## Help Fill in the Gaps - Michael Corbett

In 2021, the Patrician Academy will celebrate the 50th anniversary of its Student Council. We think that we are the oldest Student Council in Ireland, having been established in 1971. A celebration was planned for Mallow Library in January of 2021 to mark the significant milestone. In preparation for this, I, alongside fellow Transition Year students Páidí O' Riordan and Joe Power formed a subcommittee of the Council that has been dedicated to research the history of the Council for the event. We have been greatly assisted in our research by Mr. John Lucey.

Sifting through old articles and past school magazines, we compiled a list of chairmen of the Council and noted the most significant Council events through the years. But due to gaps in our timeline we have decided to write an article asking you, the reader, to help us fill in the blanks. We are in the process of creating an Honours Board of all the Council past chairmen and we would like to have as few omissions and inaccuracies as possible. If you have any information regarding past student councils, feel free to contact the school,

admin@patricianacademy.com, or call into the school. The number of the school is 022-21884 and the address Patrician Academy, Bowling Green, Mallow, Co. Cork.

- 1. 1971 -
- 1972 1973 Paul Hayes
  1974 -
- 5. 1975 K. Dalton
- 6. 1976 Liam O Brien
- 7. 1977 Denis Buckley
- 8. 1978 Denis Buckley
  9. 1979 Pat Murray
- 10. 1980 John Gayer
- 11. 1981 John Gayer
- 12. 1982 Seán Hickey
- 13. 1983 John Forde
- 14. 1984 Paul Hayes
- 15. 1985 J Leahy
- 16. 1986 J. Buckley and J. Sheehan
- 17. 1987 Alan O Callaghan and Dominic Heaney
- 18. 1988 Barry Beechinor
- 19. 1989 Neil Delaney
- 20. 1990 Sean Sherlock
- 21. 1991 Sean Sherlock
- 22. 1992 David O' Sullivan
- 23. 1993 Bartley Galvin
- 24. 1994 John Linehan
- 25. 1995 Harold McSweeney
- 26. 1996 Juan Carlos Ascencio Lane
- 27. 1997 Kevin McCarthy 28. 1998 -
- 29. 1999 -
- 30. 2000 Gearoid France 31. 2001 - David Linehan
- 32. 2002 Billy Mulcahy
- 33. 2003 Eamonn Gardiner
- 34. 2004 Paul Culloty
- 35. 2005 Conor Leahy
- 36. 2006 Sean Walsh
- 37. 2007 James Fitzgerald

- 38. 2008 Conor Manson and Seán Daly
- 39. 2009 Tadgh Ó Caoimh
- 40. 2010 Seán Ronayne
- 41. 2011 Paul McCarthy 42. 2012 - Brian O Regan
- 43. 2013 Niall O Keeffe
- 44. 2014 Páidrag Curtin
- 45. 2015 John Cashman
- 46. 2016 Padraig O Driscoll
- 47. 2017 Eoghan Kenny
- 48. 2018 Luke Kennedy
- 49. 2019 Glen Singleton
- 50. 2020 Kenny Dunne

Apart from the timeline, longtime Student Council head Ms Glynn spearheaded the making of two beautifully painted murals; one by a second year group and one by Resource 1 and Caun, aided by Mr Stokes. Joe and Paidi spent hours collecting images of each Council for an anniversary slideshow also.

Unfortunately due to a spike in COVID cases in early January leading to the closure of schools, we were not able to go ahead with our presentation. We hope to publish a number of articles of interesting events that the Student Council have been involved in over the years. We look forward to travelling down the Academy's memory lane with you all and if you would like to share any of your stories of your time in the Academy please do so through the above contacts. We look forward to enjoying the postponed events with you all in a better, safer environment in the coming year.



Michael Corbett, Páidí O' Riordan and Joe Power subcommittee of the Patrician Academy Student Council.